Why is Malaysian passport red?

Why is the Malaysian passport red?

So why is our passport that hue of red? Well, the answer is quite simply because our government likes that colour. And practically, it does look smart and official.

What does a red passport mean?

The red passport, also described as maroon, is valid for five years. … Those who travel with this type of passport are members of Congress, members of the military, family members of military personnel, and any other private citizen who might be conducting international travel at the request of the government.

What country has a red passport?

Passports with a red cover are often chosen by countries with a historical or current communist system. Citizens of Slovenia, China, Serbia, Russia, Latvia, Romania, Poland, and Georgia have red passports. Member countries of the European Union, except Croatia, also use passports of burgundy and other shades of red.

Which country Malaysian Cannot go?

In September 2017, Malaysia announced a ban on all Malaysian citizens from travelling to North Korea, in the wake of strained Malaysia–North Korea relations following the assassination of Kim Jong-nam at Kuala Lumpur International Airport.

Who gets red passport?

Diplomatic passports in India are issued to people with diplomatic status or who are travelling abroad on official duty for the Government of India. Diplomatic passport holders receive a passport of Type D’, which has a maroon cover.

Can I still travel with a red passport?

People who still have the ‘old style’ burgundy red passports have been warned of a change that could leave them unable to travel. … But due to changes in rules around expiry dates, passports are now only valid for 10 years exactly – additional months are no longer valid.

What are the 4 colors of passports?

All passports are one of four sombre shades—red, blue, black or green. And while there are variations (for example, Switzerland’s is scarlet and Canada uses white for temporary travel documents), there are no other colors despite there being no legal requirement for picking one of these four.

Why do passports only come in four colors?

There are four colours they come in – red, blue, green and black – and are mainly because they are dark hues, meaning they hide dirt and damage, and look more official.

Categories Uncategorized